Prophecy Exam…Have you taken this?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Hells Bells Hells Bells 3 months ago.

• Author
    funky Chick
    funky Chick
    Participant

Hi,

I’ve been in nursing for about five years now and I was recently given an opportunity to start as a traveling nurse. I did one 13 week assignment, which I loved. According to the agency that hired me as a travel nurse, there is an “abundance” of work out there for travel nurses. I have already completed one assignment for 13 weeks.

I took the PBDS test and I passed it although it was very difficult.  Because I couldn’t get another assignment as a travel nurse, I just went back to the hospital where I was working previously and took my PRN status back. I’m working about 36 hours a week now.

I work in med-surg and I would think there would be a ton of assignments out there for this, but the agency never calls me back and I’m getting really frustrated because travel nursing is something that I really want to do.

Has anyone taken the Prophecy Exam? I am debating about taking it. I do get test anxiety pretty badly, but if it will help me get work then perhaps it’s a good idea…thoughts?

Holistic Hol
    Holistic Hol
    Participant

This makes me mad. I am so tired of taking tests. I took the boards and they’re still not happy. Education, education and more education. There has to be a limit to this. It’s getting quite ridiculous. I can’t believe they are asking you to take more tests, just to get a job. Being an RN should be enough. This is nuts and no, I haven’t taken the test and don’t plan to. I live in Indiana and I don’t have any problems finding work on assignments.

Hillary MSN
    Hillary MSN
    Participant

Well you have to understand that these companies do pay an awful lot to get nurses who have great skills and can adapt quickly to any environment.