Pot Smoking is legal now in California. Does that mean nurses can smoke it too?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Nurse Brielle Nurse Brielle 1 week, 5 days ago.

• Author
    Lincoln Lover
    Lincoln Lover
    Participant

Hello all,

I don’t smoke pot, but as most of us can say, I did in college, way before I became a nurse. I have noticed a couple of shops opening up near me in the last couple of days and they sell all different kinds of pot. It’s very alluring to say the least. I wouldn’t mind smoking the odd joint here and there., but I’m a nurse and not sure if we are allowed to do that.

I know it does impair you slightly and I would never consider doing it on the job, but wouldn’t mind the odd joint on my off time. Afterall, nurses are people too and I think they should be able to do everything that other people are allowed.

With it impairing you, what’s the difference between pot or alcohol? I think pot is actually safer really. Alcohol makes you stupid. You have no control over your body when you drink too much, yet I’ve seen nurses drinking at parties and other events. Nurses can drink. We are not normally tested for it either.

I just wonder if hospitals will start urine screening in California because of this law and the stress nurses are under. I think many nurses will turn to pot now that it’s legal. Thoughts?

pot smoking is legal now in California. Does that mean nurses can smoke it too?

Nelly
    Nelly
    Participant