How do I do a neuro check?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Krista Krista 1 year, 6 months ago.

• Author
    Beanie
    Beanie
    Participant

I’m a nursing student and I have a question about neuro checks. in my 2nd semester. I’m starting my clinicals next week and will be on my neuro rotation. I would like help and tips on how to do a neuro check on a patient before I begin the rotation. I also would like to know if there are any tips for nursing students from seasoned nurses on here, specifically for neuro rotations.

How do I do a neuro check

• #69797 Reply

Michellie Jones
    Participant

I would imagine that your instructor would provide you with guidelines on how to do this so I wouldn’t sweat it too much.

Just remember your assessment skills that you should have learned in 1st semester.

Are the pupils equally round and reactive to light and accommodation. (PERRLA)
    Can the patient speak and follow commands
    Have them grasp their fists around your finger bilaterally and check for strength.
    If they are alert and oriented can they push their feet on your hands?

Can they respond appropriately to questions

Good luck. Ask your instructor what she expects during the assessment. They’re all very different in what they expect.

• #69799 Reply
    Krista
    Krista
    Participant

I do neuro checks on all my patients frequently, even if it’s not required. You don’t know when a patient’s mental status could change and you may not be aware, if you don’t check them.

At the beginning of the shift I always do a thorough neuro check so I will have a good baseline in case things change.

Are they AAOX3 (alert and orientated) to person, place and time.

Ask their name, ask them if they know where they are and also ask them what date it is.