I can't believe what I just heard…OMG

This topic contains 4 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Jennifer Angel 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
    Not Yo Mama
    Not Yo Mama
    Participant

I’ve been a PICC nurse for several years now and I travel around regionally, mostly nursing homes and the odd hospital here and there.

Tonight I went to a facility to do a PICC line on a patient who was in her late sixties and had had a major stroke where she was unable to move hardly at all. I needed help from another nurse just to move her into position to do the procedure. Ethically I’m already very uncomfortable doing this procedure and putting the patient through this much when you know the patient is dying.

This patient had multiple co-morbidities and was literally circling the drain. The only reason I was willing to do the procedure is because she is still relatively young. But I was still sickened by the fact that we do these medical procedures on patients who really should just be in palliative care, but instead, we are prolonging their agony.

Anyway, as I’m doing the procedure the patient’s husband shows up. He’s the rough type. His jeans are all dirty, he’s covered in tattoos and he reaks of cigarettes. He actually tells me that he wants the procedure done and he is refusing Hospice for her because he needs her alive for as long as possible because he needs her check from the government each month. I nearly fell through the floor.

I had a very difficult time shutting my mouth. This man has been married to her for 40 years and didn’t seem upset at all. Just worried about the check he won’t get if she dies. Now I thought I’d heard everything, but this is completely awful.

What do you do or say to a person who says something like that? I feel like reporting him to someone. This is so cruel, to keep this woman alive for his financial benefit. Makes me sick!

I can't believe what I just heard...OMG

Squirt
    Squirt
    Participant