I am NOT a tech!!!!

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Jennifer Angel 2 months, 1 week ago.

• Author
    Tiffany J
    Tiffany J
    Participant

Hello all,

I am really fed up with something that continues to happen as I work as a CRNI. I travel regionally doing PICC lines on patients. Many are in nursing homes, some are in hospitals and rehab facilities. Many of the nurses in nursing homes are LPN’s.

I constantly hear them calling me a tech. They’ll tell another nurse, “the tech is here.”  I am NOT a tech.. I am and RN with multiple certifications; CRNI and VABC. I am also highly skilled at doing PICC lines on patients with a 99 percent accuracy.

Tonight I had an LPN tell another LPN that the “tech is here.”  Ugh, here we go again. Except for this time I had enough. I told her that I was NOT a tech, that “I am a registered nurse with certifications.” She replied, “whatever.” I said, “no, not whatever. You would not want me referring to you as a tech since you’re an LPN” She rolled her eyes at me and walked off.

I am just tired of that kind of disrespect. Not that there is anything wrong with being a tech, but I am not a tech and it’s really annoying. Is anyone else experiencing this?

Gail Saunders, RN
    Participant

I understand your frustration, but you probably should take it too personally. They have no clue. Just politely say, “I’m not a tech, I’m a nurse,” then leave it. I wouldn’t worry about it. They don’t know any better. they don’t have any idea what you do and probably think techs do PICC procedures

Sarcasm Rocks
    Sarcasm Rocks
    Participant