Patients who abuse family members-How do you handle this?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Tina Gee Tina Gee 1 month ago.

• Author
    PaulaNurse
    PaulaNurse
    Participant

patients who abuse their family members

Hello,

I’m a nurse and I work in a nursing home. I’ve been here for over ten years and been a nurse for 15. I used to love working here, but lately, I’ve become tired of working there because there seems to be an influx of patients who treat their family members like dirt and I just can’t handle this.

There is one quadriplegic¬†patient that we have and he recently had the injury which caused his disability. He is in his 30’s, so I understand and have empathy for him because it must be absolutely awful to go through what he has gone through and know that you will never be able to do for yourself anymore.

But he treats his wife like dirt. He yells at her and calls her names, verbally abuses her and she is just the sweetest girl to him. I’ve told him several times to appreciate her because she obviously loves him, but he continues to berate her, order her around and expect her to do everything for him right away.

How do other nurses deal with these types of patients? I’m becoming depressed because this is what I have to deal with all the time now and it makes me a little bitter about being a good nurse to them when they’re so hateful to their spouses. Any advice would be greatly appreciated

pprn
    pprn
    Participant

I agree that there are some patients that are nearly impossible to deal with. But it’s really not our job to get involved with their personal affairs. It’s our job to take care of their needs medically.

We cannot allow ourselves to become bitter and judge people based on the way they act *or have acted in the past). Any correctional nurse will tell you that it’s not easy to put the patients’ personality to the side and do your job the same way with every patient.