Why are new nurses so rude?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Renal Nurse Renal Nurse 1 week, 4 days ago.

• Author

Daisy, RN
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I want to ask this question, even though it may upset a few of you. But I’ve been a nurse for over 20 years and I work in a very busy ICU. We have had an influx of nursing students lately and I’m wondering what is going on with them. I know nursing school is stressful, but to me that’s all the more reason to be humble.

The new generation of nurses seem to have bad attitudes. ALmost a “better than thou” type attitude and they can be downright rude. Seasoned nurses know the textbook way of doing things, but we also know that in reality there are other ways of doing things that offer better outcomes for the patient  AND the nurse. This is learned by making mistakes over the years and trying “textbook methods” that don’t work.

I had a nursing student the other day that I was precepting and she corrected me rudely several times about the way I do things. Who do they think they are? I couldn’t believe it. I am a star performer where I work and couldn’t believe she was treating me like I was the one in nursing school. “well, the textbook say this and the textbook says that.” was all I heard for 12 hours straight. I wanted to choke her.

As well as that, she just had a bad attitude. Like changing beds and doing bed baths was beneath her. She isn’t the only one that I have had a problem with, and I’ve heard other nurses in my hospital complaining about them.

I don’t want to get them in trouble by reporting them to their clinical instructor, but I am just so frustrated. Has anyone else experienced this? and if so, how do you handle this?

why are new nurses so rude?

Agency Owned RN
    Agency Owned RN
    Participant