Where are you supposed to draw the line?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Onlyanurse Onlyanurse 7 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

Gemma
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’m a PICC nurse and I travel regionally to different facilities, (mostly nursing homes) to place PICCs on patients who need them. So they don’t have to go to the hospital to get them.

Anyway, yesterday I had two really difficult cases with obese patients who were diabetics and I couldn’t find the vein. When I did finally found one, it wouldn’t thread.

I then got called to do another PICC at a nursing home close to me. When I arrived at the facility there was a woman there at the front door who had a walker and she appeared to be in her late 70s, but I didn’t really pay much attention to her because I was focused on my work.

Suddenly, right before I walked in the door she said, “Hey, can you give me a ride?”  Her voice was kind rough and she was a bit rude. But I felt sorry for her and asked her why she needed a ride. She said her husband had suffered a stroke and she had been with him at the facility since then. She told me that she rode the bus because they wouldn’t allow her in the ambulance.

Feeling sorry for her, I agreed to give her a ride but told her that it might be a while. She said, “what’s a while?” I told her ” about a hour and a half, or so). Then she asked if she could sit in my car. I told her she couldn’t and when she asked why I told her that I didn’t know her, she was a stranger and that I didn’t trust her in my car.  I told her again that when I got out of the case I would drive her home.

The case last about an hour and a half. When I walked out of the facility I was really hoping she’d be gone. But instead, she was standing there smoking a cigarette. She looked at me and said, “Thank God. It’s about time.”