What…No Stethoscopes Anymore?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Cassey Mc Farlan 3 months ago.

• Author
    Lyndsay Toomey
    Lyndsay Toomey
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m really excited because I bought a new stethoscope and I must add I’m a very new nurse. I work on a busy med-surg floor and I’ve been told three times now that I don’t need my stethoscope. What are other nurses doing for their assessments? What happened to head-to-toe assessments including breath sounds and bowel sounds?

This is very strange to me. I don’t see how you can get away with not using a stethoscope and why would you not want to do a thorough assessment? Is this just happening at this hospital or are their other hospitals that this same thing is occurring and no one seems to care? I’m completely baffled.

What...no stethoscopes anymore?

Health Nut Nurse
    Health Nut Nurse
    Participant

Nurses are notorious for changing the rules and falling into bad habits with patient care because they see their coworkers doing it and it seems much quicker.

Please don’t fall prey to this behavior. You’re doing the right thing and if anyone else tells you that you don’t need your stethoscope just tell them that you feel more comfortable using it and keep it around your neck if you want.

There is so much to do that it becomes overwhelming at times, especially when you’re understaffed. You feel like you need to move quicker and it’s so tempting to just do it the easy way. Don’t lower your standards for anyone.

Believe me they won’t have your back when you are being sued because you didn’t listen to breath sounds with your stethoscope. If they want to do assessments without a stethoscope that’s on them. But you need to keep doing it the right way. Never take short cuts, they will come back to bite you in the butt.