I Hate Nursing

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Jean Lewis 1 year ago.

• Author
    Penny J
    Penny J
    Participant

I don’t want to be yelled at anymore. I’m an RN and I was working on getting my BSN, but I am at the point where I am wondering why I ever became a nurse. I have hated every minute of it.

I hate the people I work with and it’s not just the place I work now. I’ve been a nurse for 15 years and it’s every place I work. Nurses seem to be nasty individuals that will stab you in the back in a heartbeat.

I know there are a lot of people who just love nursing, but I am not one of them. I got my degree because my parents wanted me to become a nurse. My Mother and Grandmother were both nurses. But I just can’t stand it anymore and I am wondering if I am the only one that feels this way.

I despise the hours, the workload the constant bickering. I’m a nervous wreck. I smoke a pack of cigarettes a day and had to do to the doctor and get some Xanax to calm me down after work. I get nauseous even thinking about getting ready to go to work and that’s pretty much all day.

I am not married and have no children and I feel like my life is wasting away in a job that I hate. Is this what life is about for everyone.

The problem is that I don’t know how not to be a nurse. If I quit nursing what can I do? I don’t have any other skills besides nursing. Nursing has become who I am and I can’t seem to shake that. I’m so lost and have no clue what to do. I need to make money somehow, but I just don’t think I can stomach this anymore.

Michelle
    Michelle
    Participant

Oh wow,

It sounds like you’re really unhappy. I know that nursing isn’t for everyone and perhaps you should get out of it. There are plenty of other things you can do that nursing school and being a nurse have taught you.