How do I prioritize in the ED and More tips please?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Vera Vera 1 month, 1 week ago.

• Author
    Lincoln Lover
    Lincoln Lover
    Participant

I am glad to be a part of this great group. I’m not a new nurse, but I am new to the ED, after working 4 years in med-surg. I love the ED team here at the facility where I work.

I quickly learned that the ED is a completely different world. Some nights it’s like being in the Twilight Zone.

I consider myself to be a good nurse, but every nurse has things to learn. I am hoping that one day I will get used to this environment, but for now, it’s just a weird and wonderful world. Though I know how to be a nurse, being an ER nurse is a whole new world to me… different processes, different resources, and different expectations. These things are stressing me a little bit… I hope that I eventually adjust to the process… like what is expected and when…

Anyway, Yesterday I had a patient that

Last night in the last 30 mins of my shift, I had a stable MI that needed to be transferred upstairs to a bed in the ICU

I also had two patients that I was trying to triage at the same time. One patient had pneumonia and the other had a broken bone. No sooner had I gotten them all triaged, 2 ambulances came in with patients who were in a minor MVA.  OMG

Now I am feeling pretty overwhelmed and I am really wondering how to prioritize because obviously, I am not very good at it. How do I deal with all these things going on at the same time, when they are all important.

What time frame should I give myself to get used to this? I knew it would be rough, but my gosh. It was crazy.

I also realize that this can take time, but is there anything I can do to help this? I felt completely defeated when I left this morning.

Can you please offer me any suggestions or constructive criticism to make my life a little easier? Please and thank you!

Oh, great group btw

Vera
    Vera