Can't Handle Detox Nursing Anymore?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Tara Tara 1 year, 4 months ago.

• Author
    Tara
    Tara
    Participant

I’ve been a detox nurses now for 2 years and while I want to help people who suffer from addictions I really can’t handle their manipulative behavior anymore and their constant dis-respect and lies.

I dread going to work anymore and I often wonder why I decided that this would be a good choice for me.

This is the only job I’ve had as a nurse because I went right into addiction nursing as soon as I graduated college.

I can’t stand the volatility of the interactions with people who are detoxing. It’s draining after a while and quite depressing. I’m just wondering if all nursing is this way? Or is detox nursing just over the top when it comes to patients and their behavior

Princess Nurse
    Princess Nurse
    Participant

Those are the sentiments of many detox nurses unfortunately.  Patients are playing the victm role so badly that they’re incredibly needy and so very demanding. I so feel your pain, I’m in Detox unit almost 2 years now, my first job. Starting to feel bitter, patients are so needy, demanding. I used to think that maybe I would make a difference in someone life, but not very much

I joined addiction nursing because I thought that I would be able to make a difference in the lives of people who suffer from addictions. But now I’m feeling pretty jaded about it and hate going to work now too. I’m seriously thinking about trying a different specialty before I get so locked into this that I can’t get out…yikes LOL

Pauly
    Pauly
    Participant

What’s causing all this disrespect and being spoken to like dirt?  Is it the administration at the facility that’s to blame?ing

All detox patients (try) to get away with being manipulative and demanding, this is typical drug-seeking behavior. Does te facility have some sort of protocol for dealing with these types of patients.